Is Durum Semolina Gluten Free

Websiteku

Is Durum Semolina Gluten Free. As for gluten development it behaves exactly like any other durum wheat flour. Or they may use the phrase “contains wheat” below the ingredients list.

Organic Brown Durum Wheat Semolina - Celnat
Organic Brown Durum Wheat Semolina - Celnat from www.bienmanger.com

Gluten is a desirable trait in semolina flour that is used to make pasta as it helps keep its shape during cooking. Used for thousands of years to produce pasta, couscous, puddings, and bread. Despite its yellow color, semolina does not come from corn — it's traditionally made from the endosperm of durum wheat.

The food allergen labeling and consumer protection act, which went into effect last year, says processors have to identify wheat in common terms.

This grain contains gluten and it can’t be removed no matter how much processing is done to it. Despite its yellow color, semolina does not come from corn — it’s traditionally made from the endosperm of durum wheat. Semolina is a grain flour made from durum wheat, which means it is completely gluten free. Semolina is a coarse, yellow flour that people might confuse with cornmeal.